I need to get this off my chest

I’m writing this quickly – I have so much to do but I need to get this off my chest.

 The Ebola crisis

I live in the UK –  border controls have been instigated for those travelling in to the country from affected countries, there is no need to panic.

However every day I see headlines and social media comments about how to avoid catching Ebola.

As a childminder in the UK, I do not need an “Ebola outbreak policy” (yet many childminders are writing them)

There is an online training course, which “will be of great interest to any learner who lives in or near regions where an outbreak of the Ebola virus has occurred” I learned of this course through a UK childminding group, it’s quite the recommendation. Of course it can’t hurt to have more awareness, but trust me there are plenty of other things to worry about in the childcare world. On the plus side, I suppose any additional hygiene precautions instigated will also help to reduce any spread of norovirus or flu around settings – admittedly significantly less fatal but far more likely in the UK at this time of year.

As a parent of children in a primary school, where teachers are planning to go to Kenya[1] for an exchange programme, I do not need to keep my children out of school for the 3 week incubation period on the teachers’ return if the school does not respond to my demands to keep the teachers off for this period. [2]

What I do need to do is look at what’s happening in the countries that are actually affected, because surely, caring for the ill and dying and helping to stop the outbreak in its tracks, at source, is better than laying down supplies of water and beans in my garage.

There are many charities working alongside governments to help these people, but the one that caught my eye today was Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF) – As well as the work they do, they have an excellent factual online update on what is happening together with personal blogs written by their staff in the field – I only managed to read two this morning before I was sobbing in to my cuppa. Even the BBC reported on the radio this morning that, clean chlorinated water and protective equipment and clothing for health workers is in increasingly short supply. I can’t find the link for that, so you’ll have to take my word for it, but I did find this excellent infographic. Will you just look at the numbers???

Ebola patients treated outside West Africa*

Map showing Ebola cases treated outside West Africa

*In all but three cases, first in Madrid and later in Dallas, the patient was infected with Ebola while in West Africa.

source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-29628622

There is actual, virus driven tragedy happening, now and in countries that don’t appear to have the resources to adequately deal with it. These people need our help and now. So instead of spending extra food money on food stores and candles, I have sent some money to MSF.  I would urge you to do the same or another related emergency fund of your choosing. If you really can’t spare any money then at least read some of the blogs to restore some perspective,

Thank you – rant over[3]

[1] Kenya has had no reported incidents of Ebola.

[2] Not actually my childrens’ school but one in the same town

[3] I’m aware that this may not be adequately referenced, but it does take the form of a heart felt rant and is basically just my opinon. If there are any factual errors, please let me know with links to correct information… thank you

Leave a comment